Toxic Christmas Plant

  • Share on Facebook!
  • 3 Christmas plants to avoid having for the holidays!

    Holly 

    You use it to decorate your home, but if the berries fall to the ground, they can be swallowed by your pet. If the animal swallows them, it could have digestive disorders like diarrhea and also vomiting. On the other hand, fatal intoxications are rare.

     

    The Mistletoe 

    Mistletoe, popular holiday plant, pretty, but watch out for berries rolling on the ground. The inside of mistletoe berries is dangerous for the heart and the nervous system. Attention, in these cases, intoxication can be fatal.

     

    Poinsettia 

    Although less toxic than mistletoe, do not let your pet get close to it. It can cause him irritation in the mouth, in the stomach. Do not forget that cats climb, even in height this plant is to be avoided!

    What to do if the animal is poisoned? 

    Call or immediately consult a veterinarian (or duty veterinarian) to tell him about the incident. He can then guide you. 

    The best solution is prevention!

    Happy holidays safe to you and your animals!

Les plantes de Noël Toxiques

  • Share on Facebook!
  • 3 plantes de Noël à éviter d’avoir pour les Fêtes!

    Le Houx

    Vous l’utilisez pour décorer votre intérieur, mais si les baies tombent au sol, elles peuvent être avalées par votre animal. Si l'animal les avale, il pourrait avoir des troubles digestifs comme des diarrhées et aussi des vomissements. Les intoxications mortelles sont par contre rares.

     

    Le Gui

    Le gui, plante populaire des Fêtes, jolie, mais gare aux baies qui roulent par terre. L’intérieur des baies du gui est dangereux pour le cœur et le système nerveux. Attention, dans ces cas-là, l’intoxication peut être mortelle.

     

    Le Poinsettia

    Bien que moins toxique que le gui, ne laissez pas votre animal s’en approcher pour autant. Elle peut lui causer des irritations à la gueule, à l’estomac. N’oublier pas que les chats grimpent, même en hauteur cette plante est à éviter!

    Que faire si l’animal s’est empoisonné ?

    Appelez ou consulter immédiatement un vétérinaire (ou le vétérinaire de garde) pour lui parler de l’incident. Il pourra alors vous guider.

    La meilleure des solutions reste la prévention!

    Joyeuses Fêtes sécuritaires à vous et vos animaux!